13 – 19 November 2017

Club Deportivo Chapultepec
Mexico City, Mexico

Outdoor Red Clay
Official website

This tournament is part of the prestigious year-end quartet of North American junior events that includes the Orange Bowl, Eddie Herr and the Yucatan Cup.

The first edition of the Copa Internacional Casablanca was played in 1977, and in 1998 it was promoted to Grade 1 by the ITF. Renamed Abierto Juvenil Mexicano, it was added to the list of Grade A tournaments in 2004, and since 2011 the venue is the Centro Deportivo Chapultepec.

The list of players includes world ranked No. 1s, and also Grand Slam and Olympic medal winners such as Roger Federer, Ivan Lendl, Goran Ivanisevic, Thomas Muster, Caroline Wozniacki, Juan Martín del Potro and Gabriela Sabatini. Among the national players who have won the singles or doubles crowns are Jorge Lozano, Santiago González, Agustín Moreno, Marcela Zacarías, Francisco Maciel, Rafael Belmar Osuna, Oliver Fernández and Aranzazu Gallardo.

Last year, the Abierto Juvenil Mexicano hosted players from more than 40 countries, among them the best junior players in the world, Anastasia Potapova and Miomir Kecmanovic.


Surrounded by the Chapultepec Park and overlooked by the only Castle in the American Continent that was inhabited by an emperor, the CDCH is a prime sports and cultural center located in one of the most exclusive areas of Mexico City.  It has a tennis stadium, eleven outdoor and three indoor clay courts.

Stadium and Center Court

The Stadium Rafael Osuna is named after Mexico’s most famous tennis player, who was considered one of the best tennis players in the world of the early 60s. Osuna won the U.S. Open Championships singles (1962), the Wimbledon Doubles championships (1960, 1963), the U.S. Open Championships doubles (1962), lead Mexico to the Davis Cup Final in 1962 and won the doubles olympic gold medal six years later. He was inducted to the International Tennis Hall of Fame in 1979. The Stadium, which has been the venue of some of the most glorious Davis Cup Mexican victories, has a capacity of 2,700 spectators.

Host Hotel

The Camino Real, four-star host hotel that is a Mexico City architectural landmark housing more than 600 works of art, is conveniently located across the street from the CDCH, literally at a “fifty-step-walk” distance from the CDCH for the convenience of the junior players.

Abierto Juvenil Mexicano 2016

Last year, Miomir Kecmanovic of Serbia took the boys singles title and American Taylor Johnson won the girls. Doubles winners were Caty McNally / Natasha Subhash (USA), and Andrew Fenty (USA) / Yshai Oliel (ISR).

Past singles champions (boys/girls)

2016    M. Kecmanovic (SRB)                       T. Johnson (USA)

2015    G. Olivieri (ARG)                                A. Anisimova (USA)

2014   M. Mmoh (USA)                                 D. Galfi (HUN)

2013   N. Milojevic (SRB)                              B. Bencic (SUI)

2012   S. Napolitano (ITA)                            E. Kulichkova (RUS)

2011   B. Sant’Anna (BRA)                            A-S. Mestach (BEL)

2010   D. Kudla (USA)                                   S. Ishizu (JPN)

2009   J. Uriguen (GUA)                                A. Tomljanovic (CRO)

2008   C. Ramirez (MEX)                               T. Raykova (BUL)

2007    E. Peralta-Tello (MEX)                        J. Cohen (USA)

2006   T. De Bakker (NED)                            J. Cohen (USA)

2005   D. Young (USA)                                  A. Wozniak (CAN)

2004   P. Simmonds (USA)                            J. Cohen (USA)

2003   C. Kwon (USA)                                   M. Krajicek (NED)

2002   M. Felder (URU)                                 M. Mezak (CRO)

2001   J. Tipsarevic (YUG)                            G. Dulko (ARG